PrestoPundit

PEOPLE MAGAZINE DOES THE MCCAIN-PALIN TICKET

Posted by PrestoPundit on 08/30/2008

Here’s the interview.  Here’s the picture:

 Highlights:

As a new mom, how are you going to juggle all this?
SARAH:
I am thankful to be married to a man who loves being a dad as much as I
love being a mom, so he is my strength. And practically speaking, we
have a great network of help with lots of grandparents and aunties and
uncles all around us. We have a lot of help.

So will your husband be on leave now indefinitely to be Mr. Mom?
SARAH: I would say so, yes.

Gov. Palin, when you were 13 weeks pregnant, last December, you had an amniocentesis that determined Trig had Down syndrome.
SARAH:
I was grateful to have all those months to prepare. I can’t imagine the
moms that are surprised at the end. I think they have it a lot harder.

Mr. Palin, what does Sen. McCain need to know about working with your wife?
TODD PALIN: She’s a hard worker and she’s not wired normal. (Laughter)

Sen. McCain, of all the candidates you considered, what drew you to her?
JOHN:
Obviously, I found her to be very intelligent and very well-versed on
the issues. But I think the important thing was that she’s a reformer.
She’s taken on special interests since she ran for the PTA and the city
council and mayor. The courage, I guess, is what most impressed me.

Mr. Palin, you have this tiny baby with special needs. Do you worry
that people may wonder if she’ll be giving short shrift to her family?

TODD:
She’s heard that her whole life – the challenges of being a female and
mother in the work force. I remember the first time
she ran for mayor one of her fellow council members told her you can’t
run because you’ve got three negatives: Track, Bristol and Willow.
Those are the
three kids we had at the time. So when you tell her that kind of stuff,
she just gets fired up. We’re an Alaska family that adapts.

A woman on the ticket is what a lot of Hillary Clinton voters wanted
to see. What’s your message to women who might see a second shot at
shattering the glass ceiling?

SARAH: Certainly in this election cycle, women aren’t finished yet.
And women can shatter that glass ceiling once and for all.
JOHN: I think that Sarah appeals to a lot of voters – I think because
of her independence, because of her reform agenda and her record of
balancing both family and service. It is motivation to not just Clinton
voters but to lots of voters.

Given her young age and relatively short resume, why is she any more
ready to be president than Sen. Barack Obama?

JOHN: I don’t think it’s a short resume. She first ran for office
back in 1992. I don’t know what Senator Obama was doing then, but the first
time she ran was 1992. That’s 16 years. I think that’s a pretty, pretty event-filled and record-filled resume.
SARAH: And I haven’t had too many years other than that to fill up yet.
JOHN: There you go.

Do you feel ready to be a heartbeat away from the presidency?
SARAH: Absolutely. Yup, yup. Especially with a good team around us.

No Responses Yet to “PEOPLE MAGAZINE DOES THE MCCAIN-PALIN TICKET”

  1. Joshua said

    The People interview has disappeared down the memory hole. I suspect it’s being “edited for clarity” as the excerpts you posted weren’t presented with the proper … context, shall we say.

    The dims are panicked

    The dinosaur media are so out of the loop.

    Great blog, btw. I’ve added you to my roster. I came here via the Jonah Goldberg post at the Corner

Leave a Reply

 
